Desha County, Arkansas


    Desha County Circuit Court | 406 W. Oak St. | McGehee, AR 71654

    Incorporated in 1906 and named for postmaster Abner McGehee, the city of McGehee is located in Desha County approximately 60 miles southeast of Pine Bluff. In 1878, the railroad was extended to McGehee and the town began to prosper. Abner McGehee opened a mercantile store and post office in 1879 to accommodate the growing agricultural community. McGehee had a population of 4,570 residents as of the 2000 census.

    City Contacts

    Name Position
    Jeff Owyoung Mayor
    Karon White Clerk/Treasurer
    Gibbs Ferguson District Judge
    Melinda French City Attorney
    Jim White Police Chief
    Ricky Terry Fire Chief
    Eric Plunkett Street Superintendent
    Charles Beasley Water Superintendent
    Michael Kellebrow Code Enforcement Officer
    Dorothy Flemming Council Member
    Margaret Hood Council Member
    Steve Montgomery Council Member
    Al Murphy Council Member
    Mike Rogers Council Member
    Helen Wesson Council Member

    City Demographics

    Population: 4219
    Square Miles: 6.40
    People Per Square Mile: 660.00